RSS

Review: Black City Demon

02 Mar

51dw9g1hyel-_sx329_bo1204203200_Black City Demon
by Richard a. Knaak
Paperback: 363 pages
Publisher: Pyr (March 14, 2017)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1633882756
ISBN-13: 978-1633882751

Product description:
Since he became the guardian of the Gate between our world and Feirie sixteen hundred years ago, Nick Medea, once Saint George, has battled to keep the darkest Feirie–the Wyld–from invading the mortal plane. With the dragon an unwilling part of him, Nick maintains balance between realms, often at great cost to him and those nearest to him.

Nick and his ragtag confederates–including the shape-shifter Fetch and Nick’s reincarnated love, Claryce–have battled the Wyld, but mortals as sinister as the darkest Feirie. Now, with Prohibition in full swing and bootlegger wars embattling Chicago, a murderous evil born of the mortal world has turned its attention to the power of the Gate…and Nick himself.

Nick must turn again to his most untrustworthy ally: the dragon within. Yet even together they may not be enough to face what was once a man…but is now a creature even dragons may fear.

My thoughts:
Is there any surprise that I loved it? I mean really? I really enjoyed the feel of the 1930’s era ( something that I rally enjoyed about Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them)  and the film noir vibe throughout the book. Of course, the action is a plus. Since his Dragonlance days, Knaak has had a knack for story-telling with dragons.

my_photo-1Black City Demon is the sequel to Black City Saint and I suggest that you start out with Saint first. Knaak sets up Demon pretty well but I think that you would enjoy it much more after reading Saint.Black City Demon will be available in the middle of this month so there is plenty of time to read Black City Saint — if you devour books like I do.

My score? 5 stars out of 5 … Yes, it’s that good.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pyr. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 2, 2017 in Book Reviews

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
