Review: Lilith Dorsey’s Love Magic

41ecnkopozlLove Magic: Over 250 Spells and Potions for Getting it, Keeping it, and Making it Last

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Weiser Books
  • ISBN-10: 1578635926
  • ISBN-13: 978-1578635924

Product description:

This is really “the big little book of love magic.” Magical maven Lilith Dorsey has packed into this fun, informative, and practical book over 250 spells, potions, rituals, and recipes devoted to all facets of love and sex.

Based on years of magical experience and prodigious research, this book includes sections on such topics as self-love, marriage, fertility, erotic adventures, the ethics of love magic, and more. The spells are drawn from a wide diversity of magical traditions and focus on an equally diverse situations. There are spells for finding love, keeping love, and healing yourself so that you are ready for love. The book also includes rituals for invoking goddesses of love. Dorsey considers and discusses all facets of the romantic experience.

Let’s face it we are obsessed, inspired, delighted, and in love with love. And here is the go-to book for every spell you will ever need for finding and keeping romance, passion, sex, marriage, fertility, and love in your life. Rooted in serious scholarship while still exploring the weird, wild, and wonderful side of love magic, this book provides expert advice and genuine spells that work to bring you your heart’s desire.

My Thoughts:

picture-7When I first pulled this book from it’s wrapper, my first thought was, “Oh hell, I hope this isn’t some HP Mallory crap.” I immediately hated the cover and I was prepared to hate the entire book. Imagine my surprise when I found myself loving the book. In time even the cover grew on me — okay, that’s not true.

Love Magic is nicely written, paced well, organized well, and packed with clipart. Having said that, some clipart of the plants in the  Materia Magica chapter would have been a little more helpful. I think that I would like to have seen a little less Psalms and a little more in the way of an Index. As a History major, I loved the Suggested Reading, and the little touches of History and Folklore scattered throughout the book.

All in all, this is a damn fine book. I love reading about how someone explores their own spirituality. In many ways it makes me think of Mrs. B’s Guide to Household Witchery or the Hedge Witch Book of Days. I don’t know about food for passion but that fig recipe looked pretty tasty. Mmmmmmmm figs.

I’m giving Love Magic by Lilith Dorsey 5 stars out of 5 and I consider it a must-have for your esoteric home library.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Weiser Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

