Living with Linux: Peppermint 6

Yesterday was my first day using Linux Peppermint 6 (http://peppermintos.com/). It installed perfectly and I am very pleased with the results.

peppermintinstall

Of course, I had to immediately give it a try so I made a screen grab with the software that is bundled with the Peppermint 6. This OS also comes with Chromium and, as a Chrome user, I couldn’t have been more happy. Within seconds I had all of my bookmarks and I was ready to surf. I promptly surfed over to Facebook and posted the pic of my new Linux Peppermint on Facebook. Wow! I don’t think that I have had anything work so well so quickly.

Today, I have had my bandwidth absorbed with a game downloading on my Windows rig. Even though it was a pain to download some of the software, I have made a great many changes to the original Peppermint. I really like the flexible customization.

Over the next weeks and months, I will show you my Peppermint’s evolution from out-of-the-box to something that I will use everyday. What works, what fails, and my work-arounds will all be a part of this “Living with Linux” series. Let’s hope the test of time will be as pleasant as my first couple of days.

If everything works out, I plan to use this OS for my booktube videos. Expect to see some experimental videos about my Peppermint system soon …

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

Leave a Reply

