Review: Manhattan Mayhem: New Crime Stories from Mystery Writers of America

Manhattan Mayhem: New Crime Stories from Mystery Writers of America
by Mary Higgins Clark

Hardcover: 320 pages
Publisher: Quirk Books
ISBN-10: 159474761X
ISBN-13: 978-1594747618

Barry’s score 4 stars out of 5

Product description:
Best-selling suspense novelist Mary Higgins Clark invites you on a tour of Manhattan’s most iconic neighborhoods in this anthology of all-new stories from the Mystery Writers of America. From the Flatiron District (Lee Child) and Greenwich Village (Jeffery Deaver) to Little Italy (T. Jefferson Parker) and Chinatown (S.J. Rozan), you’ll encounter crimes, mysteries, and riddles large and small. Illustrated with iconic photography of New York City and packaged in a handsome hardcover,Manhattan Mayhem is a delightful read for armchair detectives and armchair travelers alike!

My thoughts:

First allow me to admit a certain bias for Quirk Books, I love that company. The quality of this book (Manhattan Mayhem) and other books by Quirk is simply stunning. The company really does get it.

The stories are a superb collection of mysteries set in Manhattan.  Having said that, some stories were hit and a few fell into the average area. I suppose that I would have gotten more out of some of the stories if I had been to Manhattan some time in my life.

Manhattan Mayhem is 17 short stories in 320 pages. It is packed with B&W pictures of Manhattan and that really added to the mood of the stories.  Each chapter had a map of the area and I really liked that little touch.

No mystery here — it’s a topnotch book with a nice collection of stories. I give this one 4 stars out of 5 and recommend Manhattan Mayhem  for your home library.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Quirk Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

Leave a Reply

