The 2014 Occult Detective Awards: Swords & Sorceries

Check out Bob’s picks for 2014!

occultdetective.com

5thawards

Occult Detective Stories might be my first love, but close on their heels is the Sword & Sorcery genre. As such, Day Four of the 5th Annual Occult Detective Awards honors such tales. My only regret is I didn’t get the chance to read King of the Bastards by Steven Shrewsbury & Brian Keene because I’m sure if I had it would have found a place among the following recipients —

Best Novel
The Slow Regard of Silent Things by Patrick Rothfuss

This is not the book I was suspecting. Set in the world of Rothfuss’ Kingkiller Chronicles, this haunting tale features one of the author’s most compelling characters, Auri. Rothfuss has warned readers to not begin his series here, but I beg to differ. I was enchanted by this book and believe it is Rothfuss’ finest work, allowing him to work another set of writerly muscles and prove him…

View original post 392 more words

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

