RSS

Review: Rumi, Day by Day

01 Oct
Review: Rumi, Day by Day

Rumi, Day by Day

004Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: Hampton Roads Publishing (October 1, 2014)
ISBN-10: 1571747001
ISBN-13: 978-1571747006

Available @ Amazon Rumi, Day by Day

(Barry’s score 5 out of 5 stars)

Product description:

Here is a daily companion that provides Rumi’s wisdom and spiritual insight. These poems have been selected on the basis of the poignancy of their message and their relevance to contemporary life.

This is timeless wisdom translated for modern readers. It is a guide for meditation and a light switch that you can turn on to make your daily connection with spirit. Use these words as tools to better your life each day, to draw continued guidance, inspiration and spiritual wealth.

My thoughts:

Perhaps it is my gnostic leaning, but I love the Sufi philosophy of Rumi. I usually receive a “daily” Rumi tweet, facebook quote, and email. I love them and find them very inspirational.

In “Rumi, Day by Day” Maryam Mafi gives us 365 of Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Balkhī aka Jalāl ad-Dīn Muhammad Rūmī quotes. I read through them in an afternoon.

If you are not familiar with Rumi, I would suggest this book as an introduction to some of his work. I highly recommend it and give “Rumi, Day by Day” 5 stars out of 5.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Hampton Roads Publishing and Weiser Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
