RSS

Review: It Was a Dark and Creepy Night

30 Jul

It Was a Dark and Creepy Night: Real-Life Encounters with the Strange, Mysterious, and Downright Terrifying
by Joshua Warren, Andrea Saarkoppel

itwasadarkPaperback: 256 pages
Publisher: New Page Books; 1 edition (August 25, 2014)
ISBN-10: 1601633289
ISBN-13: 978-1601633286

Available August 25th @ Amazon
It Was a Dark and Creepy Night: Real-Life Encounters with the Strange, Mysterious, and Downright Terrifying
Barry’s score — 5 stars out of 5.

My thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book and I think that it is my favorite book of the year. What Warren has done is to collect a massive number of paranormal stories, allegedly true, and present them for the reader to judge their validity. Each story is only a page or two long and you’ll breeze through them like a handful of salted peanuts.

To me, this is what the paranormal is all about. It is not the guys wandering around in black t-shirts, cameras, and devices with blinking lights. The paranormal is all about a friend  or acquaintance, sitting at a table with you, and relating something odd that occurred to them.

Having said all of that, let me tell you about an odd synchronicity that occurred to me while reading this ebook.  I was cleaning a display when I knocked off a pocket knife that had belonged to my Grandfather. After reading a few more  stories, I read a story about synchronicity and finding a pocket knife that belonged to a Grandfather. Synchronicity? Coincidence?  Hmmm?

All in all, I really enjoyed this book. I give it 5 stars out of 5 and I think that it is a must-have for your home library.

Product description:

There were only three rules when Joshua P. Warren began collecting these stories from around the world: they had to be true, they had to be short, and they had to send a shiver down your spine.

It Was a Dark and Creepy Night presents a wide variety of weird and spooky tales about ghosts, UFOs, cryptids, angels, demons, ESP, interdimensional contact and more. Because each tale is short, this eerie little tome is perfect for a subway ride, a plane flight, or a night entertaining guests.

An internationally respected investigator of the unknown, Joshua adds his insight to these strange experiences. Some tales are too odd to easily categorize, but each one simple or complex transformed an ordinary person’s life, revealing a facet of those uncanny phenomena that still leave us wondering…what if?

    Imagine if:

  1. You met a strange woman who said she remembered Lincoln’s funeral, then vanished . . .
  2. You dreamed you were being attacked by a demon and woke up to find scratch marks across your body . . .
  3. The face of the person in front of you suddenly transformed into that of a reptilian . . .

Remember: These and the many other tales in this fascinating book are true, short, and eminently creepy!


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Page Books and Warwick Associates. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 30, 2014 in Book Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
