Saturday movie review: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

Saturday movie review:

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug

I guess if a case could be made for the book being better than a movie one need only point at The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. Don’t get me wrong, I was entertained by the movie, but I love the original Tolkien stories.

hobbit2The movie is visually impressive. The barrel ride was packed with both action and humor. I thought that Bilbo’s view above the trees of Mirkwood was stunningly beautiful though it reminded me of Disney’s Tarzan when Tarzan took Jane to the jungle’s canopy to see birds. The spiders of Mirkwood reminded me of Harry Potter, although Bilbo’s ability to understand their speech while wearing the ring was interesting.

All to often, I was left scratching my head with the introduction of new characters and odd love triangles. I was also put off with changes to characters like Beorn who I imagined to be a huge, muscular Viking-like being but became a demi-wookie, while in human-form, in the movie. Clearly, Jackson and I pictured Beorn very differently.

It also seems to me that Jackson is trying to hard to link The Hobbit with Lord of the Rings. I actually laughed out loud when I saw the Eye of Sauron.

Still, the second Hobbit film is entertaining. I give it 3 1/2 stars out of 5 and recommend it for the fantasy fans.

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

