Review: Inferno

infernoInferno
by Dan Brown

Hardcover: 480 pages
Publisher: Doubleday; First Edition edition
ISBN-10: 0385537859
ISBN-13: 978-0385537858

Available through Amazon
Inferno

(Barry’s score 3 1/2 stars out of 5)

My thoughts: Barry says — good.

Did you ever read a book and think to yourself that this would be an excellent movie? Something similar ran through my mind as I read this book. Sadly it seemed to be more movie than book, if that makes any sense. It was as if Dan Brown were plotting the future movie rather than writing a book.

I can’t say that I didn’t enjoy it at times. Inferno does seem to be typical of a Dan Brown story and I love Dan Brown stories. If you follow Brown’s tales, you might find this story a tad formulaic. I wanted to love this book, but this is probably my least favorite of the series. Is the magic gone?

I thought the book was good — and I’m sure that the movie will be a hit. I give Dan Brown’s Inferno an average score of 3 stars out of 5.

Product description:

In his international blockbusters The Da Vinci Code, Angels & Demons, and The Lost Symbol, Dan Brown masterfully fused history, art, codes, and symbols. In this riveting new thriller, Brown returns to his element and has crafted his highest-stakes novel to date.

In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology, Robert Langdon, is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Doubleday . I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

