RSS

Daily Archives: May 23, 2013

Review: The Machine God

the machine godThe Machine God (The Drifting Isle Chronicles)
by MeiLin Miranda

File Size: 855 KB
Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
Publisher: Sans Culotte Press (April 4, 2013)
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
ASIN: B00C7T9F9E

(Barry’s score 4 out of 5 stars)

Buy now through Amazon —The Machine God (The Drifting Isle Chronicles)

Product description:

One thing makes life in Eisenstadt bearable for exiled Professor Oladel Adewole: the island floating a mile above the city. He’s an expert in world mythology about it, but no one’s ever been there or knows how it got there.

When a brilliant engineer makes it to the island in her new invention, the government sends Adewole up with its first survey team. The expedition finds civilization, and Adewole finds a powerful, forbidden fusion of magic and metal: the Machine God.

The government wants it. So does a sociopath bent on ruling Eisenstadt. But when Adewole discovers who the mechanical creature is–and what it can do–he risks his heart and his life to protect the Machine God from the world, and the world from the Machine God.

My thoughts:

The Machine God by MeiLin Miranda is a mix of fantasy and magic with steampunk. The real power source in this story is a substance called”ichor”.

Ichor? An obscure word in Old Rhendalian meaning “blood of the gods,” a word the ancient alchemists used to describe a mythical, elusive substance which turned lead to gold. Adewole said nothing about it to the engineer; esoterica bored him.

I have to admit that I really enjoyed the coffee-swilling character Adewole. He is a very interesting yet flawed character. Having said that, I think the owls are my favorite characters in the book.

If you like your steampunk with a twist of fantasy, I think that you will enjoy the book. I give it a solid 4 stars out of 5. Funny and touching, The Machine God has a little something for everyone.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author MeiLin Miranda. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
 

Tags: ,

Update Ryan Buell Surgery

ryanbuellAs many of you know, Ryan Buell, the host of Paranormal State, has been suffering from Pancreatic cancer. Ryan recently went through an operation that removed one organ and a piece of another. He is “stable and resting in the ER.”

My thoughts and prayers are with him and his family during this difficult time. I know that I speak for many when I say that I look forward to seeing you ghost hunting again.

Paranormal State

Paranormal State (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

 
