RSS

Daily Archives: April 26, 2013

Review: Steampunk Magic: Working Magic Aboard the Airship

steampunk magicSteampunk Magic:
Working Magic Aboard the Airship
by Gypsey Elaine Teague

Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: Weiser Books
ISBN-10: 157863539X
ISBN-13: 978-1578635399

My thoughts:

Page 28

The other Grandmaster of steampunk, Jules Verne is probably known for the Nautilus and Captain Nemo in Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea with War of the Worlds coming in a close second.

No, War of the Worlds was written by H.G. Wells, if you can’t properly identify the works of a “Grandmaster of steampunk” how can we trust your knowledge of either steampunk or magic?

The entire book has that look and feel of “gluing gears on it and calling it steampunk.” Ironically, the book begins with a Crowley quote, “To me a book is a message from the Gods to mankind, or if not, it should never be published at all.” I think that this one lands in the “should never be published” category.

It seems to me that most of  the steampunk material can be found with a simple Google search. For example, a list of conventions can be found on this blog. I wanted to like it, but I just don’t see the bang for the buck in this book.

Give this one a pass … 2 stars out of 5.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Steampunk Book Review

 

Professor Elemental – This Is My Horse (show me yours).

Professor Elemental – This Is My Horse (show me yours).
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 
Image

Dapper man with gun

jump with gun

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2013 in Uncategorized

 
 
