RSS

Daily Archives: April 6, 2013

Barry’s mailbox

Barry’s mailbox

mailbox040613

This is where I tell you what has landed in my mailbox this week, but this week I can add a few lines about where my mailbox landed.

This week I received “Make Magic of Your Life” by T. Thorn Coyle as a prize in a giveaway by Weiser Books. I also received an autographed ARC (advanced reader copy) of “His Clockwork Canary: The Glorious Victorious Darcys” by Beth Ciotta.

If you would like to see the cover art for “His Clockwork Canary,” check out my March 21st post (link). Expect to see this book in your favorite bookstore around June 4th and I’ll post my thoughts about this title sometime in May.

ciotta auto

This week I bought: “The Gospel of Buddha.” New Page Books emailed copies of “Monster Files: A Look Inside Government Secrets and Classified Documents on Bizarre Creatures and Extraordinary Animals” and “The Alien Abduction Files: The Most Startling Cases of Human-Alien Contact Ever Reported.” Both ebooks look interesting, and New Page plans to send me a physical copy of “Monster Files.”

Interesting email this week:

So if you’ve time to schedule a giveaway, that would be cool.

Facebook comment this week:

Those who read books better be on your blog! I don’t know where you come up with books your review, but I have a lengthy list of must-reads now as soon as I get a life and can get caught up. I appreciate you reviewing them so I know what to put on the list.

Twitter comment this week:

@gnostalgia I am disappointed by your trashing GH if not for them shows like yours wouldve never been given a chance. respect in due!

Ans. Um, I don’t have a show. I think you’ve confused me with Barry Fitzgerald, Barry Kling, etc. They HAD a show. Just to help with the confusing names, you can think of me as the good-looking one lol.

Finally I will close with not what landed in my mailbox, but where my mailbox landed (neighbor’s yard). I was surprised to find that my mailbox had been hit by a car and the driver didn’t have the courtesy to tell me. How gutless do you have to be to damage someone’s property and run-away like a little child?

To the owner of the car that ran over my mailbox, I found part of your car in the debris. It seems to be in good shape, and an apology will go a long way in getting it back.

003

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

 
