RSS

Review: Nevermore

04 Mar
Review: Nevermore

Nevermore: A Novel of Edgar Allan Poe and Allan Pinkerton
by Brent Monahan

(Barry’s score 4 1/2 stars out of 5)
Buy @ Amazon
Nevermore: A Novel of Edgar Allan Poe and Allan Pinkerton

Product description:

Only one of history’s most famous detectives – Allan Pinkerton – could investigate the death of one of literature’s most famous writers – Edgar Allan Poe. In this fictional imagining of the events following Poe’s death, Allan Pinkerton, a real-life embodiment of the famed writer’s C. Auguste Dupin, literature’s first detective, embarks on a journey into the life and mind of the author and poet to uncover the secrets of Poe’s life and untimely – and mysterious – death.

From the Author
monahanDo you “sort of” know the story of Edgar Allan Poe’s very strange death? So did I. Which inspired me to ferret out all the contemporary accounts, sift the wheat from the chaff, and not only deliver the hard facts for your edification but also offer an entertaining solution. At the same time, in the tradition of teaming famous personages in fiction, I use the very colorful, real-life Allan Pinkerton (one of the very first detectives) to do the sleuthing. I have crafted the tale to be an especially good Halloween month read. Mike Hammer would have liked my Pinkerton.

My thoughts:

As most of you know, I love Edgar Allan Poe, and when this book was offered to me, I jumped at it. I was afraid that my high expectations for Nevermore would be dashed  by a pale Poe-ish tale. Fortunately, it’s good — it’s damn good.

I was hooked by the first chapter. On more than one occasion, I thought that Monahan had missed a chance to pull in another reference to a piece of Poe’s work only to see that reference made a few pages later. It is a really well crafted novel.

The characters are fleshed out well, and they feel right. The intimate moments of Allan and Molly were titillating. I like the flawed character of Allan refraining from alcohol to please Molly. The story had the feel of an old film noir detective story.

Twenty chapters of  Allan Pinkerton were not enough, and I hope that there will be more Pinkerton tales in the future. I highly recommend it and give it 4 1/2 stars out of 5. It’s a must-have for your home library.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from author, Brent Monahan. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2013 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Nevermore

  1. ezekielcode

    April 29, 2013 at 5:06 am

    Sold! Just now bought the Kindle edition and looking forward to what looks to be an intriguing read.

     

Leave a Reply

 
