Review: Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop

Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop
And Other Practical Advice in Our Campaign Against the Fairy Kingdom
Reginald Bakeley, Foreword by Clint Marsh
ISBN: 9781573245326
Book (Paperback)
Conari Press
208 pages
40 B&W illustrations
October 1, 2012

Product description:

Help is on the way! In the tradition of Lemony Snicket and Roald Dahl, Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop shows how to banish those pesky dark Fairy creatures who are ready to thwart every last pleasure, be it gardening, country hikes, or even getting a good night’s sleep.

In this charming guide, “fairy hunter” Reginald Bakeley offers practical instructions to clear your home and garden of these unsettling inhabitants, and banish them from your chicken coop and kitchen cupboard forever!

In Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop readers will discover:

  • Why a bustle in one’s hedgerow may be cause for alarm
  • Why a garden fumigator may come in handy on evenings at the pub
  • Why a toy merchant, a butcher, and a Freemason are among your best allies in the fight against the fey

Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop is the only complete manual on how to identify, track, defend, and destroy those bothersome brownies, goblins, dwarves, scheming flower-fairies, and other nasty members of the fairy realm.

My thoughts:

I got a pretty good chuckle out of this book, any book that comes with a rubber chicken key-ring has to be special. I personally don’t have a problem with goblins or any other of the fairy-folk in my garden. My chupacabra Peppy does a pretty good job of keeping the fairy-folk out of the backyard. Sadly, he is less effective with squirrels.

While some of the advice is sound, I wonder just how practical it really is? For example, Reginald Bakeley suggests using Freemasons to to build a stone circle and divert a ley line away from your chicken coup. Does Bakeley really expect us to believe that Freemasons still exist?

All in all, it was good for a laugh and I highly recommend it. While it may not divert a ley line or give a useful gnome recipe, it will divert your attention away from the troubles of reality for a few hours and that truly is magic. I give Goblinproofing One’s Chicken Coop 4 1/2 gnomes out of 5.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Conari Press. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s