Review: The Donuts of Doom

The Donuts of Doom
M.E. Brines
Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 354 KB
Print Length: 221 pages
Sold by: Amazon Digital Services
ASIN: B005U41R0I

Product Description

In a world where pastry is a controlled substance and a layer cake is considered a weapon of mass destruction, one lone figure stands ready, rolling pin in hand, to strike a blow for frosting and freedom.

Prin is an orphaned dwarf raised by humans. He flees a HealthWatch raid on his parents’ bakery that leaves his stepfather dead and his stepmother sentenced to the treadmill. Accompanied by a disreputable “wizard” with dubious powers, a gnome with an anger management problem and the village idiot and his loyal and incontinent dog, Prin begins a whimsical journey through a steampunk world of airship pirates, steam cannon, traction trains, clockwork horses, amorous windup robots, vast herds of porcuswine, cannibalistic munchkins, dwarf armies, stoned elves, people who hate clowns, and a fat man on a bicycle.

Through battles, plots and counter-plots, a hint of sorcery, and numerous pastries, can a young baker with a shadowy past discover the recipe to overturn mad Doctor Travaculus and give people back their just desserts? Find out in The Donuts of Doom!

The Donuts of Doom is in the same category as much of the writing of Terry Pratchett and James P. Blaylock. It deals with serious issues in a humorous and whimsical manner. And did I mention recipes? Recipes for all the cookies, biscuits, hotcakes, pies and donuts mentioned in the book are provided in an appendix.

My thoughts:

Brines doesn’t have a slick ebook cover, or a super-duper publisher. What he does have is talent.

I loved the political satire. The story has some laugh out loud moments. You know the kind, where everyone in the room looks at you with an expression questioning your sanity.

I guess one of the most interesting characters was Steve the clockwork man.

 “I don’t know about you meat men, but my maker was George Winkie. And it doesn’t take any faith to believe that, it’s printed on this plate on my shin – George
Winkie and Sons, makers of fine Clockies, blah, blah, blah. It’s even got an address if you want to write for a catalogue. I bet your maker doesn’t do that.”

All in all, I really enjoyed the ebook. The steampunk elements were a hit with me. The commentary was appreciated and the recipes look good. Yes, there are some recipes at the end of the ebook. Now where did I put my Porcuswine lard?


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ebook free from M.E. Brines. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

4 thoughts on “Review: The Donuts of Doom”

  1. I have to admit, I’m in a writer’s group with M.E. Brines and I got to listen to that book as he was putting it together and honestly, I had no remarks of what to do to make it better. It was flawless. He has crazy skills as a writer, but his wit is his hallmark!

Leave a Reply

