Review: Odyssey of the Gods: The History of Extraterrestrial Contact in Ancient Greece

Odyssey of the Gods: The History of Extraterrestrial Contact in Ancient Greece
by Erich von Daniken
Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: New Page Books
ISBN-10: 1601631928
ISBN-13: 978-1601631923

Product Description
Erich von Däniken’s monumental Chariots of the Gods changed the way generations have looked at mythology, ancient history, and the possibility of advanced beings from other worlds visiting Earth. Now he tackles the history of Greece and again challenges our beliefs about how our civilization arose.

Using painstaking archaeological research and evidence from the writings of Plato and Aristotle, he suggests that the Greek “myths” were, in fact, very much a reality, that the Greek “gods” were actually extraterrestrial beings who arrived on Earth many thousands of years ago.

Many of you may find von Däniken’s conclusions astounding, but they are argued with such vigor and clarity that you’ll be forced to consider the implications of his findings for mankind

Odyssey of the Gods includes new, eye-opening information about:

  • A revolutionary interpretation of the sites and legends of ancient Greece
  • The conflict between “alien” gods and humans
  • The true origin of centaurs, the Cyclops, and other “mythical” creatures
  • A startling new explanation of the Atlantis legend

My Thoughts:

Once again, another great title by Erich von Daniken. I loved the beautiful glossy cover. The book is littered with pictures, many of which are in color.

As a lover of Greek mythology, I was hooked immediately. I guess my favorite part was the discussion of the Jason and the Argonauts legend. Having graduated from the University of West Florida — the Argonauts— I took special interest in Von Daniken’s theory.

Could aliens have contacted ancient Greece? It is something fun to ponder and argue. All in all, I enjoyed the book. I give it 4 stars out of 5, and I recommend it to anyone interested in Von Daniken’s work or Greek mythology.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Page Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”


Next book I’m reading …

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

1 thought on “Review: Odyssey of the Gods: The History of Extraterrestrial Contact in Ancient Greece”

  1. Barry, this sounds like a great read. I read Von Daniken’s “Chariots of the Gods” as a child, and I believe it really did begin to shape who I am as far as my interests and things that I believe in!
    The new book will soon be on my wish list!

Leave a Reply

