Review: Crone’s book of charms and spells

Crone’s book of charms and spells
By Valerie Worth
Publisher: Llewellyn Publications; 2 edition (September 8, 2002)
ISBN-10: 1567188117
ISBN-13: 978-156718811

Product summary:

This charming little magic book holds the carefully guarded secrets that a wise woman of bygone days could have penned in her grimoire by candlelight. Herbal elixirs, powerful charms, amulets, balms for all folk who come to her seeking their heart’s desire: enhanced health and healing, protection, love, marriage, fertility, wealth, youthfulness, beauty.

Quaint and mystic, this treasury of lore also describes twelve rituals to guide you through the mysteries of a full year of seasons. Begin with an ice-sparkling ceremony for the first day of the year and celebrate the winter solstice in a glorious burst of red and gold fire. Each ceremony grows out of the unchanging truths of the cycle of seasons and of the universe itself.

My thoughts:

On the plus side, I enjoyed the prose. The Nineteenth Century flavor really appealed to me. The illustrations were in keeping with a book of that style and I enjoyed them. Having said that, the book lost me with odd non-wiccan charms.

A Charm to Work Revenge
Gather from the hawthorn tree, or from some great thorned rose, three thorns of noble length. Set them to steep in an oil of civet, and meanwhile take the heart from a fowl […] and shall bring such ruin to it’s victim that it should not be undertaken without serious consideration of the consequences.

If you are like me, and you need a lot of revenge, you probably wondered where you could get that many bird hearts (relax I’m joking — as far as you know). Seriously, is there a bird heart market somewhere? I couldn’t help but think of Harry Potter’s “Diagon Alley” as a place to pick-up some revenge charm bird hearts. Do you stop for road-kill and remove the heart, and stick it in the freezer, in anticipation of a future revenge charm? Can you imagine a kid coming home from school and wondering where his pet bird Tweety went? I really had a hard time taking much of this book seriously.

I was entertained by portions of the book, but I didn’t learn anything from it. The herbal section was interesting but it needed more illustrations and documentation. Sadly, I really can’t recommend this book for anyone. I give it a very disappointing 2 stars out of 5.

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

2 thoughts on “Review: Crone’s book of charms and spells”

    1. I think it should have been a “spell and charm book I wish my great-grandmother had given me”. Poems about the weather, comments on natural phenomena that indicate changes in the weather. Herbal recipes, different teas, etc.

      Lots of documentation for people to research …

Leave a Reply

