RSS

Review:Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials

26 May

Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials
by Erich von Daniken
Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: New Page Books
ISBN-10: 1601631413
ISBN-13: 978-1601631411

( 4 1/2 stars out of 5 )

Product Description:

High up in the Bolivian Andes-4,000 meters above sea level-lies Puma punku, an ancient ruined city that simply could never have been constructed by its Stone Age inhabitants.”Something here really stinks to high heaven,” writes Erich von Daniken.

“In Twilight of the Gods,” says von Daniken, “I document precisely what it was that left the first visitors breathless as they stood before the mighty stone blocks some 400 years ago. I will show you what archeologists discovered hundreds of years ago and demonstrate how much has been destroyed over the centuries. Intentionally.

“I will also prove that Puma punku was not built by any Stone Age people.

“And in December 2012, the gods will return from their long journey and appear again here on Earth. At least that is what the Mayan calendar would have us believe.

“The so-called gods–the extraterrestrials–will come again. We’re headed for a ‘god shock’ of major proportions.

“But doesn’t anyone with half a brain know that interstellar travel is simply impossible because of the sheer distances involved? And that extraterrestrials would never look like us?

“Well, dear readers, I destroy these preconceptions. Systematically. One bit at a time.”

In his own inimitable way, Erich von Daniken picks these preconceptions and prejudices apart with a clarity no other author could manage.

My thoughts:

I can’t help but wonder how many scifi writers own Erich von Daniken for inspiring them. I remember the lines from Battlestar Galactica, “There are those who believe that life here began out there, far across the universe, with tribes of humans who may have been the forefathers of the Egyptians, or the Toltecs, or the Mayans. That they may have been the architects of the great pyramids, or the lost civilizations of Lemuria or Atlantis. Some believe that there may yet be brothers of man who even now fight to survive somewhere beyond the heavens.”

I always enjoyed carrying a copy of Chariots of the Gods into the classroom just to watch my Professors’ heads explode. I have to admit that, other than the reactions from my Professors, I got a lot from von Daniken’s work. I suppose the greatest gift that he gave me was the desire to think out of the box.

The book has a sharp glossy cover and it is packed with graphics and illustrations. I suppose the thing that really impressed me were the glossy pictures in the middle of the book. Von Daniken’s enthusiasm for this subject bubbles up with almost every word and you can’t help but get caught up in it.

I really enjoyed it and blew through it in one afternoon. I highly recommend it and I give it a solid 4 1/2 ancient aliens out of 5..

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Page Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 26, 2011 in Esoteric Book Reviews

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Review:Twilight of the Gods: The Mayan Calendar and the Return of the Extraterrestrials

  1. Autumnforest

    May 26, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    I cut my reading teeth on Chariots of the Gods and was never the same since. Some people read about Darwin and Evolution and that changes how they see their whole world. Well, Erich did this for me. I can’t wait to read it!

     
  2. Deborah Hart

    May 27, 2011 at 3:44 am

    Here here! I agree wholeheartedly! Chariots of the Gods was one of my biggest literary influences, and literally made me who I am today, as far as my beliefs and interests are concerned! Von Daniken was supurb then, and can only have gotton better with age and wisdom! I hope to own this book someday SOON! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
