RSS

Review: The Witch’s Heart: The Magick of Perfect Love & Perfect Trust

10 May

The Witch’s Heart: The Magick of Perfect Love & Perfect Trust
by Christopher Penczak

Paperback: 312 pages
Publisher: Llewellyn Publications
ISBN-10: 0738726273
ISBN-13: 978-0738726274

(3 1/2 stars out of 5)

Product Description

Create a balanced, happy love life with the help of this book of practical love magick. Award-winning author Christopher Penczak offers a wealth of magickal workings and wisdom for everything from reclaiming sexual power and arousing passion to banishing ties to an unrequited love relationship.

Written for Witches, Pagans, and other magickal people, this guide tells you how to first build self-love and self-esteem, then use that energy to find a partner or rekindle the passion in your current relationship. It offers instruction on making love spells, potions, and talismans, and features a materia magica of flowers, herbs, stones, and metals to empower them. The Witch’s Heart also explores divine inner alchemy, love deities, sexual healing, fertility, the ethics of love magick, twin flames and soul mates, and how to heal a broken heart.

My thoughts: The cover design by Kevin R. Brown is beautiful. The book is easy to navigate and it includes some striking illustrations. However; I would like to have seen the tarot cards larger and in color for those of us with older eyes. I have a video of me showing the front and back covers and thumbing through the pages here.

Christopher Penczak gives us a crash course in a myriad of spells, charms, and potions connected to love. Penczak also covers topics like astrology, tarot cards, and tincture recipes. I got a chuckle out of a recipe for a male potency tincture that included an unspecified amount of vodka. To be fair, the directions were to use a dropper full of the tincture in 30 minute intervals.I found the Seals of Venus from The Key of Solomon very interesting, as well as the Seal of Haniel, but they were only given a few pages.

One the downside, I had an uncomfortable vibe regarding the ethics of what some would call “left-handed” magick. On page 49, Penczak equates love spells with giving flowers, and compliments, etc. On page 50 Penczak argues, “While I’m not necessarily an advocate for casting love spells on specific people, it’s important to look at all sides of the situation and realize that those who do decide to do so are no more despicable or evil than those who are great flirts and seducers.”

It seemed to me that Penczak was trying to muddy the waters of where he stood on the Wiccan Rede. By the time we reach page 51, Penczak has morphed from “not necessarily” advocating to “I was taught that it was fine to do a love spell on a specific person.” That seems to fall into the realm of valuing the Wiccan Rede until its inconvenient.

All in all, I enjoyed the book and learned a lot from it. I have several pages bookmarked for later reference. Some Wiccans may be troubled by Penczak’s views of the Wiccan Rede, although I think that Wiccans of different paths will find “The Witch’s Heart” interesting.

I give it 3 1/2 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Llewellyn Publication. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Witch’s Heart: The Magick of Perfect Love & Perfect Trust

  1. lotushart

    May 13, 2011 at 4:09 am

    I now have a Gravatar, why is it not showing? Sorry to ask that here after the book review, please forgive!

     
    • Barry Huddleston

      May 13, 2011 at 5:54 am

      I don’t know but I love the name *wink* Did you upload a picture?

       

Leave a Reply

 
