Review: The Strange Case of Finley Jayne

The Strange Case of Finley Jayne
by Kady Cross

Publisher: Harlequin Teen (May 1, 2011)
ASIN: B004WEKR1W

( 4 stars out of 5 )

Product Description
Finley Jayne knows she’s not ‘normal’. Normal girls don’t lose time, or have something inside them that makes them capable of remarkably violent things. Her behavior has already cost her one job, so when she’s offered the lofty position of companion to Phoebe, a debutante recently engaged to Lord Vincent, she accepts, despite having no experience. Lord Vincent is a man of science with his automatons and inventions, but Finley is suspicious of his motives where Phoebe is concerned. She will do anything to protect her new friend, but what she discovers is even more monstrous than anything she could have imagined…

An ebook exclusive prequel to The Steampunk Chronicles.

My thoughts: Although, I am not a big fan of YA stories, I love steampunk. It should come as no surprise that I really enjoyed this novella. The main character Finley has an inner demon that she ( and all of us ) must learn to deal with. I think that inner conflict will appeal to many YA readers.

On the downside, I thought that the story started off a little to slow. A novella is a sprint not a marathon. The foreshadowing of the novella using the gift book of Frankenstein was way too heavy-handed.

All in all, it’s a fine start to a new steampunk series. The next book will be “The Girl in the Steel Corset.” While it is targeted for the YA audience, this 52 year-old enjoyed the story. I give it 4 stars out of 5.

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

2 thoughts on “Review: The Strange Case of Finley Jayne”

  1. I have just started reading this book. When I read your review I silently screamed “I knew it!” The Frankenstein was a bit much, right? I’ glad to know I figured it out, but I still anticipate enjoying this novella. 🙂

Leave a Reply

