Review & Giveaway of The Herbal Alchemist’s Handbook


For advertising information and the author’s comment, please see my previous article HERE.

When I received this book in the mail, it was a complete and pleasant surprise. Somebody (I won’t mention their name! LOL) forgot to tell me that they happen to mention to Weiser Books that I’d get a better use from this book than them since I’m a practicing Gnostic Wiccan. 🙂

I really loved the look of this book. The front cover has an earthy, pretty handsomeness to it and the folksy artwork by Jim Warner made no doubt as to what was inside.

On the back cover was an impressive list of Who’s Who within the magickal & herbal world and they gave glowing reviews. I was very excited to get to reading and quickly shut off my phones (after calling up my friend who referred me and thanking them profusely!) and my computer, got a glass of milk, some fruit and sat down on my couch for an evening of good entertainment. Well, let me say, that I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, for the next two days, I couldn’t put this book down. This book though, is more than entertaining. It is one of the best informative, educational and practical teaching tools that I have ever come across, and I have quite a collection in my library to help me along my spiritual pathway.

Karen Harrison has accomplished to put together, in a very easy to read and understand format, everything one needs to create an herbal concoction for any situation we may find ourselves wanting a natural solution for. From formulas & recipes to astrological charting to explanations of the elements, planets, time of day, month and seasons relationships to herbs and what medicinal and or magickal results come from these, this book is powerfully and delightfully heads above the rest.

Whether you are a novice just starting out or a seasoned practitioner, this book has something for you. I only wished I had had this when I first started making my own oils and incense for my rituals! Instead, I had to have several books laid out to find the list of herbs, a book for telling me the times and seasons to do certain works, a book listing metals and stones, an astrology book telling me the pertinent zodiac and planetary info, a book for my altar setup…etc and then put this info down on paper so I could figure out what I had to do to accomplish my craft. A lot of work and preparation to do even just a 10 minute house blessing ritual! But this book has it all! To include astrological chart and numerology work. And believe me, if I can now understand this previously too hard to comprehend realm for me, ANYBODY can understand it!

But what inspired me the most is this: the message of this book covers the complete spiritual spectrum! I have 2 christian friends who have absolutely nothing to do with the magickal world but who still want this book. And I can totally see where they’d absolutely get a benefit from it. The recipes would be made with their loving and caring hearts with themselves and loved ones in mind while making the oils, drinks, bath salts and even foods so their intentions would infuse them just as any magickal chants would. And the instructions given by Karen are so simple and easy to follow that anyone can efficiently create an effective and powerful natural solution to any emotional want/need, ailment or health care concern, no matter what your spiritual inclinations may be.

I will be making several of these recipes and will be posting the results of them here at a later date. I didn’t have the time to do this from when I got the book in the mail to writing this review, but will definitely finish by the end of this month. So make sure to come back for this review.

As for this book, it truly is a must have for your library and I enthusiastically  give Karen Harrison’s book – The Herbal Alchemist’s Handbook – 5 thumbs up!

Kudos and thank you Karen for sharing such a great blessing with us!
Click here to visit Karen Harrison.
*****************************************************
Gnostagia is running a give-away of two of Karen Harrison’s book The Herbal Alchemist’s Handbook. For a chance to win, just leave a comment here, fill out the form below or email me with your contact info. Winners will be chosen at random on Sunday, May 22, 2011.

Open for US only. No PO Boxes allowed for delivery of the book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Weiser Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

***********************************

CONTEST WINNERS: There were 18 entries…..THANK YOU to all who entered!

And BIG THANK YOUs to Weiser Books for their generosity in providing the free books!

Congratulations to Mrs. Shukra from Waipahu, HI and Julie Smith from Cleveland OH…. the 2 lucky winners of Karen Harrison’s ‘The Herbal Alchemist’s Handbook’ from Weiser Books!

Author: Debby Reagan

I am a disabled Vietnam Era veteran, writer, artist, amateur radio operator and genealogist; love graphic design, traveling and most music.

5 thoughts on “Review & Giveaway of The Herbal Alchemist’s Handbook”

  1. I am an herbalist at heart. I am always having to go on the internet to find recipes. This book would be a blessing to have for my library. 🙂

  2. Hi 🙂 Talk about synchronicity…I’ve just been bombarding a friend with messages asking her about various herbs and their uses. I want to start learning about the healing uses of herbs, and grow my own. This book looks like a great start, and even better if I were to win it for free since I’m a broke student at the moment! Would really love to make good use of this book! Thanks for this generous opportunity. ~ Pax et Lvx ~

  3. Crohns prevents me from consuming herbs but your review makes my mind yearn for the reading of such a book!

  4. I love making and creating things … soaps, candles, needlework . I definitely would find make, use, and give to family and friends many of the “recipes” included. Thanks so much for the chance to win! knittingandsundries(at)gmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.