RSS

Review: The Kult

26 Apr

The Kult
by Shaun Jeffrey
Author’s website:

http://www.shaunjeffrey.com

( 5 stars out of 5 )

Product description by Shaun Jeffrey:

People are predictable. That’s what makes them easy to kill.

Detective Chief Inspector Prosper Snow is in charge of an investigation into a serial killer called The Oracle who turns his victims into macabre works of art. But Prosper harbours a dark secret of his own. He and his old school friends were members of a group called The Kult who made a pact to dish out their own form of vengeance on bullies. Now a member of the group puts their friendship to the test when he makes a far darker request: that they murder someone that raped his wife.

To get away with murder, the friends decide to blame it on The Oracle, but events take a chilling turn when the instigator turns up dead, his body fashioned into a disturbing work of art. Now, one by one, the members of The Kult are being hunted down.

Just when Prosper thinks things can’t get any worse, his wife is kidnapped and he knows that if he goes to his colleagues for help, he risks his dark deeds being unearthed. If he doesn’t, he risks losing all that he holds dear.

Jeffrey’s “people are predictable” quote is a good one, but I liked the line “Got to be careful Ty. You never know who’s out there.”

When Jeffrey emailed be about the ebook, he warned me that it is graphic in the vein of “Saw” or “Se7en”. I think that is a fair disclaimer. It is a macabre pressure-cooker with intense plot twists.The characters are deep and very well thought out. If you like authors like Kaaron Warren you like Shaun Jeffrey.

By the way, the book is in production as a movie. Check out http://gharialproductions.com/ for the latest about The Kult.

I give it 5 stars out of 5.

——————————————————-

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ebook free from Shaun Jeffrey. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements
 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Review: The Kult

  1. Shaun Jeffrey

    April 26, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Thanks for reading and reviewing my work. Very much appreciated:)

     
    • Barry Huddleston

      April 26, 2011 at 3:59 pm

      Always nice when one of the authors comments ( well almost always *evil grin* )

       

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: