RSS

My thoughts of “Infernal Devices” by K.W. Jeter

22 Mar

Infernal Devices
by K.W. Jeter
Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Angry Robot (April 2011)
ISBN-10: 0857660969
ISBN-13: 978-0857660961

( 5 stars out of 5 )

“Infernal Devices” is, as you might gather from the title, a comedic steampunk tale. It is an excellent must-have book for your steampunk library. Let me first comment on the cover art.

The cover art is by John Coulthart and it is among one of the best covers that I have ever seen. I would love to have a poster of this cover. I love Coulthart’s artwork. Notice how he worked the “Angry Robot” logo into the design. They say that you can’t judge a book by its cover, but this book is as good as its cover.

When a brilliant inventor dies, his bumbling son, George Dower takes over his shop. An enigmatic Brown Leather Man leaves a device for repair. Thus begins George’s adventure into a tale of secret societies, legends, and fantastic machines. The setting is straight out of a Dickens-esque Victorian England, with the impossible found in its dark shadowy alleys.

I really enjoyed it, and I highly recommend it. I give it a solid 5 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Angry Robot Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
