RSS

My thoughts of “Black Shadows” by Simon Swift

17 Mar

Black Shadows
by Simon Swift
Wild Wolf Publishing

( 4 stars out of 5 )

“Black Shadows” is a fun fast paced detective story. It has that film noir feel to it. The dialogue is spot on with the time period of the 30’s and 40’s.

The opening scene starts with a bang or should I say a gangland style shootout. Errol Christopher Black survives, but a fellow detective  Terry Shadow is slain in the hail of bullets. A decade later, Black takes on what he believes to be a routine case and finds himself entangled with mobsters.

As you might expect from a detective story, there are plenty of twists. The setting is great and I enjoyed much of the smart dialogue. You can’t help but think of some of the old classic PI movies. This book is in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Jonathan Latimer, and Erle Stanley Gardner.

Good story, I recommend it. I give it 4 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author Simon Swift. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements
 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “My thoughts of “Black Shadows” by Simon Swift

  1. Suzannah Burke

    March 19, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    Great review, covered the book with no spoilers. Nice work, and Simon Swift’s Black Shadows is now on my must have list.

     
  2. tee

    March 20, 2011 at 2:09 am

    Magnificent book with great potential for the movie makers.
    Can’t wait to read his next one – Casablanca Case.
    Tee

     

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: