My thoughts of “Black Shadows” by Simon Swift

Black Shadows
by Simon Swift
Wild Wolf Publishing

( 4 stars out of 5 )

“Black Shadows” is a fun fast paced detective story. It has that film noir feel to it. The dialogue is spot on with the time period of the 30’s and 40’s.

The opening scene starts with a bang or should I say a gangland style shootout. Errol Christopher Black survives, but a fellow detective  Terry Shadow is slain in the hail of bullets. A decade later, Black takes on what he believes to be a routine case and finds himself entangled with mobsters.

As you might expect from a detective story, there are plenty of twists. The setting is great and I enjoyed much of the smart dialogue. You can’t help but think of some of the old classic PI movies. This book is in the tradition of Dashiell Hammett, Jonathan Latimer, and Erle Stanley Gardner.

Good story, I recommend it. I give it 4 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author Simon Swift. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Advertisements

2 Replies to “My thoughts of “Black Shadows” by Simon Swift”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s