RSS

My thoughts on “Was That a Ghost?” by Sharon Day

06 Mar

“Was That a Ghost?”
by Sharon Day
Alex Clauss (Illustrator)
ASIN: B004QS9882
Kindle:
Was That a Ghost?

Author’s Website:
Ghost Hunting Theories

(5 stars out of 5)

Sharon Day puts together a “must read” for anyone interested in the paranormal. She has assembled the tools, that are necessary to help someone experiencing what might be the paranormal, into an easy to read ebook. With the ability of most ebook readers to highlight and add notes, “Was That a Ghost?” will become your personal wiki of the paranormal.

  1. Chapter 1 What is “Paranormal?”
  2. Chapter 2 Events in Context
  3. Chapter 3 Belief Systems
  4. Chapter 4 Personal Explanatory Style
  5. Chapter 5 Sleep Issues and Natural Causes
  6. Chapter 6 Types of Paranormal Activity
  7. Chapter 7 Haunted Homes
  8. Chapter 8 Haunted Items
  9. Chapter 9 Sensitives
  10. Chapter 10 That Was a Ghost!

Day uses multiple choice questions and her own experiences to help you to look at the paranormal with a fresh set of eyes. Although, I disagree with her on some points (I think that I fall into her spiritualist new-agers category ). I accept that her belief system is as valid as mine. “The spiritual is based within the person and doesn’t need an intellectual filter, it’s as instinctive as sense of smell.[…] all three views have validity, but they absolutely color the meaning we assign to the unexplained.”

The backbone of Day’s approach is her “Trinity of Relevance” or context, belief systems, and explanatory style. The Trinity is a simple breakdown of the myriad of data swirling around a paranormal experience.

All in all, it is an excellent ebook in its field. I give it a solid 5 stars out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author Sharon Day. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

 

2 responses to “My thoughts on “Was That a Ghost?” by Sharon Day

  1. autumnforest

    March 6, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    Wow! Thank you so much. I wanted you to have a copy as a friend and because it’s a subject you love. I am glad you got something out of it and enjoyed the way I go about helping clients. It’s really time for the field of paranormal research to attack this subject with a common methodology. That was a glowing review and I very much appreciate you reading the book and finding the substance worthy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
