My thoughts of Morlock Night by K.W Jeter

Morlock Night
by K.W. Jeter
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publisher: Angry Robot (April 26, 2011)
ISBN-10: 0857661000
ISBN-13: 978-0857661005

(2 stars out of 5)

Morlock Night begins with an interesting premise. What if the Morlocks, of H.G Well’s The Time Machine, traveled to the past?

Edwin Hocker is walking away from a party when the ‘Pale Man’ poses that very premise.

“–as I say, the Morlocks, but the really clever ones instead of the mere workers and foot-soldiers he grappled with; the Morlock generals, let’s say! These are waiting for him the next time, they direct the ambush that overpowers our host – and our host’s bones are tossed into an open grave millions of years removed from the day of his birth!” The disturbing vehemence had returned to his voice.

With that Edwin Hocker’s life changes forever, he is plunged into a quest to recover King Arthur’s sword Excalibur and save the world from the Morlocks.

Let me first comment on the cover art of this book by John Coulthart. This has got to be one of the best covers that I have ever seen. I would love to have a poster of this cover.  However; this proves the old adage that you can’t judge a book by its cover.

I wanted to love this book. It has many of the elements that I enjoy: steampunk, Arthurian mythos, and Atlantean mythos. Sadly, it was all I could do to finish this book. While Morlock Night started strong, it finished mired in dozens of plot holes large enough to swallow an Atlantean submarine.

The ending was very disappointing, it was as if Jeter just decided to quit writing. The conclusion of the war with the Morlocks was condensed into less than one page.  

I give it a disappointing 2 Morlocks out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Angry Robot Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

Up ↑

