My thoughts of “Rogue Oracle” by Alayna Williams

Rogue Oracle
by Alayna Williams
Publisher: Pocket (February 22, 2011)
ISBN-10: 1439182817
ISBN-13: 978-1439182819

(3 stars out of 5 )

“Rogue Oracle” is the second book of a series by Alayna Williams that centers around an unconventional criminal profiler Tara Sheridan. Tara, a former member of the Delphi’s Daughters, uses Tarot cards  to help her solve cases. An ex-lover, Harry Li, enters her life and the pair take on a new dangerous assignment that leads them to the Chernobyl disaster.

I enjoyed much of the story, but I am sure that I would have gotten more out of it had I read the first book.  The pace of the book sputtered at times and I caught myself daydreaming. That’s never a good sign for a book; however, the bulk of the writing was very good.

The Tarot card interpretations seemed very well researched.  I don’t expect the occult knowledge of a Dion Fortune, but I do expect some occult research by the author. In this case, Williams shows that she has some expertise with Tarot.

I didn’t like Tara’s reaction to the news that she was being treated for radiation sickness. “How long have I been asleep?” Hello! Radiation sickness!

Having said that, I enjoyed much of the book. It is well researched and I would give it a solid 3 Tarot cards out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Pocket Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

2 thoughts on “My thoughts of “Rogue Oracle” by Alayna Williams”

  1. I didn’t read the first book in this series either but didn’t feel that it detracted from my reading experience whatsoever. I’m looking forward to seeing what the author has in store for us next. Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

