RSS

My thoughts on GHI “Soldiers of Misfortune: Puerto Rico”

17 Feb
Has anyone noticed that as GHI's ratings drop so does Kris' neckline?

Has anyone noticed that as GHI’s ratings drop so does Kris’ neckline?

“Soldiers of Misfortune: Puerto Rico” was hyped by the Syfy channel as the most compelling paranormal evidence of any Ghost Hunters yet. Did we see that compelling evidence? Most people would say — no.

The show began as most shows do with Kris wearing her seatbelt in such a way as to show off her breasts. The case is read aloud by Susan and someone like Joe Chin makes a shocked face when the paranormal is mentioned.  Which has always begged the question, why does Joe (or any of the others) think a paranormal investigation team is being called in? Shortly thereafter, Joe drops a gem of an observation with Fort San Felipe del Morro and  Castillo de San Cristóbal makes two forts — yes Joe, math is a wonderful thing.

After almost going into a trance during the investigation, Susan manages to pull herself together and do some good research for the team. She discovered that a lighthouse entrance had once existed where an eyewitness claimed to have seen a shadow disappear into a wall. The team concludes that the witness could not have know about the prior lighthouse entrance, therefore validating her sighting. I have to wonder, if Susan could do research and find the prior entrance, why couldn’t the eyewitness?

The team did a good job debunking some orbs as dust. They also collected an interesting evp that sounded like the word “damn.”

Teatro Tapia

The team investigates the oldest free-standing  theater still in use in Puerto Rico. I got a bit of a chuckle at the contrast of clothing with the Director of Art and Culture dressed so well and our GHI team dressed like hobos during the interview segment.

Later, Joe and Scott make a couple of pee jokes (nothing says professional better than a few pee jokes) just before Scott freaks out. Joe tried to calm Scott down with a “don’t be afraid.”Scott thought that something had manipulated his arm, but I think he tripped on the theater seating.

My paranormals brings all the boys to the investigation

My paranormals brings all the boys to the investigation

Oh so that’s what they meant when they said the most compelling paranormal evidence of any Ghost Hunters yet. Aside from a few interesting angles of Kris, the team picked up a few evps. They also had an issue with a pair of cameras that they believed was paranormal. In my mind the camera malfunctions were a big yawn.

GHI season 2 comes to an end

GHI season 2 comes to an end

Season 2 comes to an end with Kris displaying her ghost hunting assets. I can only “imagine greater” what Syfy will reveal to us in season 3.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2011 in paranormal, TV series

 

4 responses to “My thoughts on GHI “Soldiers of Misfortune: Puerto Rico”

  1. autumnforest

    February 17, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Maybe this episode should have been called “Viewers of Misfortune.” Yeah, I had no idea the season ended. I thought it just began, but then I haven’t been watching it or sometimes just having it play in the background while I do other things. I’m not compelled by their hunts anymore. It used to be they’d go to some interesting locations and I’d get sucked in with wonder, but when enough investigations are done the same manner over and over and over and over and over (did I mention “and over?”) again, then I am just turned off. Give me something new. Give me someone new. No, not Meatloaf or some SyFy channel wrestler. Give me a real expert in the field of audio and video or physics or perhaps someone who speaks the language, anything! Give me new experiment techniques. Give me something other than the same routine. (Yawn) too late! I nodded off while writing about this.

     
  2. Adsila

    February 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Yawn, GHI season ended? I had the show on last night but couldn’t tell you what happened. Apparently, Barry did take note of Kris’ boobie and butt shots, lol.

     
    • Barry Huddleston

      February 17, 2011 at 2:53 pm

      It was research and thats my story and I’m sticking to it.

       
  3. Barry Huddleston

    February 18, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    The ratings are in and they are BAD
    Ghost Hunters International (SYFY)
    – 1.126 million viewers
    – 0.8/1 HH
    – 0.5/1 A18-49

     

Leave a Reply

 
