RSS

Review: The Inner Circle

15 Feb

The Inner Circle
by Brad Meltzer
Grand Central Publishing

(2 stars out of 5)

Meltzer’s “Inner Circle” is a meandering book in need of serious editing and it has the most disappointing ending that I have ever experienced. I was really disappointed with this book. After watching Meltzer’s “Decoded” on the History channel, I expected a lot more from Brad Meltzer.  While the premise of the book seemed incredibly implausible, I decided to go with it.

Beecher White, a National Archives archivist, helps a friend and accidentally discovers George Washington’s dictionary. This discovery leads him into conflict with a modern-day “Culper Ring.” The “Culper Ring” was George Washington’s revolutionary-era spy ring.

The book ends abruptly at the 64% mark on my Kindle for the PC.  I thought that there was an error with either the book, the Kindle program, or my computer. The story doesn’t really end, it simply stops. After a computer reboot, I found that the book still ended at the same spot. I checked my pdf format of the same book, and discovered that it also ended at the same spot. In short, that odd stop is “The End” of the book.

The rest of the book is a complimentary copy of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s “THE  CABINET OF CURIOSITIES.” Really,Grand Central Publishing? Really? Did you really want to pad nearly half of a Brad Meltzer book with a seven-year old book? Really?

I can’t recommend this book to anyone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 15, 2011 in Book Reviews

 

2 responses to “Review: The Inner Circle

  1. Nick

    February 18, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Totally disappointing book. Implausible scenarios and, as the reviewer states, it just stops. Perhaps there’s a continuation in the works but I’m not gonna buy it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
