Review: Sacred Ground & Holy Water

Sacred Ground & Holy Water: Travel Tales of EnlightenmentSacred Ground & Holy Water: Travel Tales of Enlightenment by Lyn Fuchs

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

“Sacred Ground & Holy Water: Travel Tales of Enlightenment” by Lyn Fuchs is series of seventeen insightful and funny anecdotes of Fuch’s travels around the world. Based on the title, I would have expected something like traveling the Nile or climbing to a Tibetan monastery but that really isn’t what this book is about.

Some of Fuch’s stories are hilarious, I enjoyed the one where he passed out in a sweat lodge.

I came to, five feet outside the door with everyone

standing over me. Slimy grime covered my skin. Grimy slime

came from my nose—a swollen, blood-trickling nose. Must

have fallen on my face (literally and figuratively). All dignity

abandoned, I searched my arm for less-muddy places to

wipe pinkish snot in front of near strangers.

That so sounds like one of my adventures, or should I say one of my misadventures. How many people do you know that can claim to have been kicked out of a temple in India?

One the downside, I thought that some of the sexual innuendo was excessive as was the descriptions of mummy genitalia. That being said, this book is a gem and I highly recommend it. The writing is top-notch with just enough snark to make his anecdotes fun. I had a hard time putting this ebook away.

I give it a solid 4 stars.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ebook free from the author Lyn Fuchs. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”
View all my reviews

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

Leave a Reply

