Book Review: The Bookman

The BookmanThe Bookman by Lavie Tidhar

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Need a taste of some steampunk goodness? Try “The Bookman” by Lavie Tidhar.

Imagine a Victorian England with blimps dotting the sky, Automatons roaming the streets, and brushing elbows with legends from historical fact and fiction. That, and reptilian royalty, is the background for “The Bookman.” The story is very much what you will find in classical heroic fiction.

Our Arthurian-like protagonist, by the name of Orphan, is propelled into the mystery while seeking revenge for the murder of his girlfriend. Like a Greek mythological character, Orphan finds himself a pawn used by others in a complex power play.

I really enjoyed the novel. The story is a complex tale with a fast pace. Come on people — it even has pirates! How cool is that!

I give it a solid 5 out of 5 stars and I look forward to the sequel.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Angry Robot Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

View all my reviews

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Bookman”

Leave a Reply

