Review and giveaway: What a Difference a Dog Makes

What a Difference a Dog Makes: Big Lessons on Life, Love and Healing from a Small Pooch
by Dana Jennings
Hardcover: 176 pages
Publisher: Doubleday; 1 edition (November 2, 2010)
ISBN-10: 0385532830
ISBN-13: 978-0385532839

( 4 1/2 stars out of 5 )

I had a blast with this book. It is a must read for any dog lover. The author shares some anecdotes of Bijou, an adorable black poodle, during Jennings’  recovery from prostate cancer.  There is a lot to be learned from Dana Jennings’ “accidental Zen master.”

In between the chapters, you will find the Yoda-like wisdom from Bijou. I liked, ” possession – especially anything gripped in the mouth – really is nine-tenths of the law.”

Most dog owners will relate to the anecdotes in the book. I think we all have a dead bird story or a stolen cookie story. I got a laugh from Bijou’s sleeping locations because Peppy does very much the same thing. I even have a rut in the back of a couch where Peppy sleeps and looks out the window.

If you are like me you will find yourself reading some of the funny parts out loud to anyone who will listen. My friends and family hate it when I do that, but some of these lines need to be shared.

I got a kick out of it. I give it a solid 4 1/2 stars out of 5.


Now to the fun part, I have 2 copies of Dana Jennings’ “What a Difference a Dog Makes” to giveaway. The drawing will be held on November 24th, 2010. To enter just drop me an email at anamchara@gmail.com titled “What a Difference a Dog Makes giveaway” or leave a comment with an email address. The drawing is for United States residents only and no P.O.Boxes please.  I will email the winners asking for your address and permission to list your name as a winner.Have fun and good luck !

Contest over !!! The winners are Debby R and Adsila … Thanks for playing !


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher Doubleday. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

5 Replies to “Review and giveaway: What a Difference a Dog Makes”

  1. Awwwww… I’ve been thinking of getting this book ever since I heard about it via one of the tv morning shows. Please count me in! Sounds like a very enjoyable and heartful book. 🙂

Comments are closed.