Review and giveaway of Bill Byson’s At Home

by Barry

At Home: A Short History of Private Life
by Bill Bryson
Hardcover: 512 pages
Publisher: Doubleday (October 5, 2010)
ISBN-10: 0767919386
ISBN-13: 978-0767919388 

(5 stars out of 5) 

Bill Bryson takes a fun tongue-in-cheek romp though his own home discussing a myriad of interesting historical subjects. I couldn’t help but think of the character Wilson from the “Home Improvement” series as Bryson made inventions like the mousetrap interesting. The  book is littered with amusing anecdotes like the poor tax collector in Maine who was given a “Yankee Jacket” or tar and feathering,  to the theft of silverware by Elizabeth I. 

Bryson’s chapters are broken up by room; for example, the kitchen brings up food and food preparation. The bedroom brings up topics like  sex ( with an illustration of the penile pricking ring), diseases, and death . 

The anecdotes kept me laughing, and I annoyed a few people by reading aloud to them what I found so funny. Rarely will you find a book that is as enlightening as it is charming. 

I couldn’t help but shake my head in almost disbelief when I read about the agricultural crisis of the late nineteenth Century. The British government under the Liberals “invented a tax to designed to punish a class of people.” I guess some things never change. 

Excellent book ! I give it 5 stars out of 5 ! 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher Doubleday. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.” 


 

Now to the fun part, I have 2 copies of Bill Bryson’s “At Home” to giveaway. The drawing will be held on November 2nd, 2010. To enter just drop me an email at anamchara@gmail.com titled At Home giveaway or leave a comment with an email address. The drawing is for United States residents only and no P.O.Boxes please.  I will email the winners asking for your address and permission to list your name as a winner.Have fun and good luck !

Drawing is over thanks for those who played ! Winners Debbie and Hendy !!!

3 thoughts on “Review and giveaway of Bill Byson’s At Home

Comments are closed.

Up ↑

