RSS

Review (and Giveaway ): Dracula in Love

23 Aug

It’s a full moon tonight.

Dracula in Love
by Karen Essex
Hardcover: 384 pages
Publisher: Doubleday
ISBN-10: 0385528914
ISBN-13: 978-0385528917

( 4 stars out of 5)

Do you like vampire stories? “Dracula in Love” by Karen Essex  is a sensual version of the Dracula stories. While it is written from a female perspective, I think that most males will enjoy the story.

Essex takes Bram Stoker’s Dracula and gives it a fresh spin.  The result is an interesting tale filled with a dark Victorian era atmosphere.  I loved the historical detail of Essex’s Victorian London .

The story is told through Mina, in fact Dracula enters rather late in the novel. Mina is drawn to her lover through dreams and visions. Struggling with her dreams, Mina seeks help at an insane asylum. I think that the insane asylum was one of the most disturbing places that I have read about recently. 

I have to admit that I love vampire stories and “Dracula in Love” is one of the better ones.

Starting with this full moon, I am offering 2 copies of Karen Essex’s “Dracula in Love”. I will have the drawing on the next full moon (Sep 22, 2010). To enter just drop me an email at anamchara@gmail.com titled Dracula in Love or leave a comment with an email address. The drawing is for United States residents only and no P.O.Boxes.  I will email the winners asking for your address and permission to list your name as a winner.

I received this complimentary book from DoubleDay Books for review purposes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Review (and Giveaway ): Dracula in Love

  1. Debby Reagan

    August 24, 2010 at 11:12 am

    Sounds absolutely fantastic… and Dracula has always been one of my favorite vampire stories (Memnoch the Devil and the others by Ann Rice being the others)! I think a vampire “love story” is a refreshing angle on an old (but good) story theme and would love to read it. Count me in please!

     
  2. Janet

    August 27, 2010 at 8:53 am

    I would love to read Karen’s book! Sounds very interesting and “vampirish”!

     
  3. Donna S

    September 8, 2010 at 10:06 pm

    I would love to be included. Sounds really good. Thanks for the chance!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

     

Leave a Reply

 
