Review: Slights

 

Slights
by Kaaron Warren
Paperback: 528 pages
Publisher: Angry Robot
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0007322429
ISBN-13: 978-0007322428

(5 stars out of 5)

Disturbing … very disturbing. Stephanie (aka Stevie) loses her Mother in a traffic accident. Stevie has a near-death experience, but rather than seeing a light, she is plunged into a dark hellish nightmare. While in her dark world, she is attacked by those that she has slighted in some form or fashion. Stevie turns to suicide attempts to return to her dark room and in time she turns to murder.

Stevie becomes a serial murderer (eventually taking a job as a hospice nurse) who demands that her victims tell her what that see as they die. Is that creepy enough for you?

The entire book is like seeing something so horrific that you want to avert your eyes while at the same time being totally mesmerized by the spectacle. Starting with the great cover, I left a comment at the authors blog that my copy had clipped S’s. She replied that the “cropped S’s are deliberate!” I knew I was going to like this book.

Damn good story, I give it a 5 out of 5 stars.

Received this book courtesy of Angry Robot, for review purposes.

Author: Barry Huddleston

Book and product reviews with a steampunk twist

6 thoughts on “Review: Slights”

  1. Oh my gosh! You have me riveted. When I’m writing fiction, I try not to read fiction works because it actually affects my style (yeah, I’m one of those folks who goes visiting family in WV and comes home with a backwoods dialect), but I’m putting this one aside for when I’m taking a break from fiction!

    1. Great book ! I will certainly put you on my list of authors to watch. You know the story is good when it sticks with you for a while after you have read it.

      1. Thanks, Barry. I love a story that sticks to you as well. It can be a much harder read, but more rewarding at the end.

Leave a Reply

