RSS

Review: I Know I Am, But What Are You?

31 Jul

I Know I Am, But What Are You?
by Samantha Bee
Hardcover: 256 pages
Publisher: Gallery; 1 edition (June 1, 2010)
ISBN-10: 1439142734
ISBN-13: 978-1439142738

(2 stars out of 5)

When I was first approached to do a review of “I Know I Am, But What Are You?” by Samantha Bee, I almost turned it down. I am not a fan of Samantha Bee or the “Daily Show” and that sort of book is not my cup of tea.  After a couple of days, I wrote back and volunteered to read and review the book. In my mind,  I could always do with a good laugh. Sadly, I should have gone with my first impression.

“I Know I Am, But What Are You?” is written in a pseudo autobiographical style. The anecdotes read like the build-up to a joke in a stand-up routine that never delivers the punchline. While some of the lines are funny, I never got the belly laugh that I expected. So the book fails as an autobiography and as a humorous book.

Fans of Samantha Bee or the “Daily Show” may enjoy the book a little better than I did. Although, a fan may want to read a real autobiography rather than this effort by Samantha Bee. I guess Samantha would rather hide behind a layer of lame jokes than give us an honest unvarnished look at her life.

I give this book a very disappointing 2 stars out of 5.

I received this complimentary book from Gallery Books for review purposes.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 31, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
