Review: One Season of Sunshine

One Season of Sunshine
by Julia London
Pocket Books
June 29, 2010
ISBN-10: 1416547096
ISBN-13: 9781416547099
368 pages

(2 stars out of 5)

Julia London is a New York Times best-selling author of romance novels. Romance novels are not my cup of tea; but, I thought that I would give it a try. I tried it … I didn’t like it. Having said that, I’m sure that a Julia London  fan will like this book.

The story centers around a young school teacher, Jane Aaron, who is taking the summer off to find her birth mother. While tracking down clues to find her mother, she falls in love with Asher Price.

Things seem to be going along pretty well for Jane until clues lead her to believe that she may be the daughter of Asher’s late wife. Cue the soap opera music! The story is what it is … a soap opera romance story.

I guess what really got to me was that I didn’t like the character Jane Aaron or care what happened to her. I hated that a woman presented as an educated woman could not do simple math to figure out that another woman was her birth mother. Isn’t basic math taught in public schools these days? Are we to believe that she was so tied up in her emotional funk that her adopted mother had to point out the obvious?

I give it 2 disappointing stars out of 5.

I received this complimentary book from Pocket Books for review purposes.

Leave a Reply

