RSS

Review: Honoring the Sacred Earth

28 Jun

 

Honoring the Sacred Earth: A Path to Spiritual Awakening
by Rev. David P. Smith
Paperback: 214 pages
Publisher: Dreamz-Work Productions, LLC (March 1, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0982553196
ISBN-13: 978-0982553190

( 5 stars out of 5)

For me, one of the great joys of reading is discovering real diamonds. Sadly, those diamonds are few and far between. I found one of those jewels with “Honoring the Sacred Earth” by Rev. David Smith.

Smith tackles the our modern-day separation from nature. A separation that has led to many present-day ills. Rev. Smith puts his finger on that odd feeling that we all feel that there is something wrong in the world. “We must connect in a natural and mindful way so that we can learn and develop spiritually as beings.”

The book is broken into seven parts: Returning to Nature, Honoring and Living the Seasons, Caring for Our Planet and Ourselves, The Traditional Elements, Seeking Your Path, Awakening, Putting in All Together. Each part has thought-provoking quotes and exercises. It’s a book that will stay with you for a long time.

This book should go on the shelf along side Andrew Harvey, Dan Millman, and James Redfield.

I give it 5 stars … it’s a must read.

I received this complimentary book from Rev. David Smith  for review purposes.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 28, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Honoring the Sacred Earth

  1. autumnforest

    June 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    Thanks. It’s precisely what I’ve been looking for. I’ve been pagan for a long time, but gave up spellbinding–it was too “Catholic” for me and I don’t need ceremony, but I do try to live every day in touch with nature and respectful of it, but I feel like to deepen my spirituality, I need to go further. This sounds very promising.

     
    • Barry Huddleston

      June 28, 2010 at 4:11 pm

      Actually, a part of the book made me think of you. “Creating art is a process in almost every aspect of life and nature. Art is a journey from inspiration to creation and all the wonderful excitement and frustrations in between. By taking the time to let nature inspire us we are able to hear its messages and even bring them back into our homes.”

       
  2. mamasmoonshine

    September 14, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    I’m looking forward to it. It sounds like a good read – touching on many topics I’m exploring. Very Shamanic. Thank you.

     
  3. Barry

    September 15, 2010 at 10:46 am

    Thanks for the visit mamamoonshine I love that name.

     

Leave a Reply

 
