RSS

Review: Under An Expanse of Oaks: A Druid’s Journey

21 Jun


Under An Expanse of Oaks: A Druid’s Journey
Paperback: 126 pages
Publisher: Dreamz-Work Productions, LLC (October 23, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0982553153
ISBN-13: 978-0982553152

( 4 1/2 stars out of 5)

Under An Expanse of Oaks: A Druid’s Journey” by Rev. David P. Smith is a fantastic and concise introduction to Druidry.  Rev. Smith takes us on an exploration of Druid beliefs, sacred sites,  and sacred plants of the Druids.

I’ve read Bonewit’s book on Druids, and I could not tell you if I liked it or not. I didn’t have that problem with Rev. Smith’s book. I liked it. I liked it a lot.

While the book is a diminutive 126 pages, it is packed with tons of info. I think that one of the most impressive parts of the book was the appendix. The appendix contains an impressive list of the mailing addresses of various Druidic orders. It also has a nice bibliography and suggested reading list.

I was really impressed with Smith’s thoughts on Cyber Druidry or perhaps we should call it “E-Druidry.””Authors and teachers from all paths can be reached through this medium as well and can be an endless source of wisdom.”

All in all, I found it to be an excellent book. I give it 4 1/2 stars.

I received this complimentary book from Rev. David Smith  for review purposes.

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Review: Under An Expanse of Oaks: A Druid’s Journey

  1. mamasmoonshine

    September 14, 2010 at 11:06 pm

    I never even knew what a Druid was until tonight. I did my first fire scrying and this symbol kept repeating itself. So, after the scrying, I looked it up. The symbol was that of the Druid. I’m not consciencously aware of this symbol

     
  2. Barry

    September 15, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I think that you will enjoy his work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
