RSS

Review: Damaged by Alex Kava

05 Jun

Hardcover: 272 pages
Publisher: Doubleday (July 13, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0385531990
ISBN-13: 978-0385531993

(4 1/2 stars out of 5)

“Damaged” by Alex Kava is a fast-paced thriller set in the pre-oil spill Florida coast. Maggie O’Dell struggles to solve a case involving missing body parts while her love interest, Colonel Benjamin Platt tries to save military personnel from a mysterious infection. The two cases converge and are further complicated by a powerful hurricane.

Having attended school in Pensacola for a couple of years, I really enjoyed the setting. Each chapter moved at a good pace and I was hooked with each cliff-hanger. It’s a hard book to put down.

While this book is a stand-alone story, I think that it would be wise to read some of the earlier books in the series.  It was the first Maggie O’Dell novel for me so I think that I missed a lot of the back story of the characters.

All in all, I really enjoyed the book.

I give it 4 1/2 severed feet in a cooler out of 5.

I received this complimentary book from Doubleday for review purposes.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Review: Damaged by Alex Kava

  1. phozisa

    November 22, 2010 at 4:03 pm

    read almost allboks byalex kava they are spelbinding keep me glued to the book allnight

     

Leave a Reply

 
