RSS

Review: The Swimming Pool

09 Apr

The Swimming Pool by Holly LeCraw
Publisher: Doubleday; 1 edition (April 6, 2010)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0385531931
ISBN-13: 978-0385531931

(4.5 stars)

The Swimming Pool by Holly LeCraw … Review !

Betsy McClatchey was murdered and later the prime suspect of the crime Cecil McClatchey died in a car accident. Betsy’s murder goes unsolved. 

For seven years,  Marcella Atkinson tried to deal with the guilt over her affair with Cecil. Cecil’s adult son Jed seeks answers from Marcella in order to come to terms with the loss of his parents. Again another secret affair, this time its Jed and Marcella.

Lecraw has a wonderful writing style. It would have been so easy to have this story go off the “deep end” (I love the swimming pool metaphor). Instead she has put together a story that is a compelling read. It explores love, family relationships, and deception. Some portions of the book are so intimate that it was almost uncomfortable for me to read.

All of the characters are fleshed out, rich, and well written. I guess that we could use the pool metaphor again and say that the characters are deep.

I give it a well written 4 1/2 stars out of 5!

The Contest is over …. thanks to those who entered ….

Received “The Swimming Pool” courtesy of  Doubleday for review purposes.

(winners Pearl and Debby)

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2010 in Book Reviews

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Review: The Swimming Pool

  1. Debby Reagan

    April 9, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Seems Holly had a front row seat to my family theater performances! LOL
    Sounds like a good read.

     
  2. Mystica

    April 11, 2010 at 11:16 pm

    Please count me in for this giveaway which sounds wonderful. Thank you for
    hosting.

     
  3. DKAY

    April 12, 2010 at 6:37 am

    I would like to be entered. Thanks.
    dkay401 at gmail.com

     
  4. Sue

    April 13, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    I’d love this. Thanks for the giveaway.

    s.mickelson at gmail dot com

     
  5. Marjorie

    April 15, 2010 at 7:43 am

    This book sounds so good, please enter me to win and read it.

    cenya2 at hotmail dot com

     
  6. Pearl

    April 15, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    This book intrigued me the first time I saw it in Borders. You review makes me want to read it all the more..So Please enter me in. Thanks 🙂
    pearl_0314 at yahoo.com

     
  7. Barry Huddleston

    April 15, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    Thanks everyone for entering … I’ll host another drawing in a couple of weeks. Good luck May 1st

     
  8. Arden McInnes

    April 16, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I would love to win this book for our school Library! Always on the look-out for new authors. Thanks,

     
  9. darkangelny

    April 17, 2010 at 5:58 am

    would love to be entered

    darkangelct at comcast.net

     
 
