RSS

Review: The Voice New Testament

11 Feb
  

The Voice New Testament

 

  • Paperback: 480 pages
  • Publisher: Thomas Nelson (October 28, 2008)
  • ISBN-10: 1418534390
  • 4 stars

    The Voice New Testament is a modern language, easy to read, re-telling of the New Testament. Its focus is the last 27 books of the Bible from the gospels to Revelations.  The preface says that “The Voice uniquely represents collaboration among scholars, pastors, writers, musicians, poets, and other artists.”

    I wasn’t sure that I would like this translation; however, I have to admit that I found it quite beautiful. I liked how the dialogue was done. For example:

    • Simon Peter (to the disciples): I am going fishing.
    • The Disciples: Then we will come with you.

    You just can’t break it down any better than that.

    I also liked the added information in the small in-line boxes and not tucked away at the back of the book or in small footnotes at the bottom of the page.

    On the downside, the use of Liberating King and not Christ got a little old very quickly.  I would also suggest either in-boxes or footnotes but not both. I had to laugh at John the Immerser rather than John the Baptist. I checked to see if  “immerser” was a word and found that it is informal term for an  immersion heater.

    Having said that, The Voice New Testament is a beautiful re-telling of the Bible. While John the Immerser (or John the immersion heater) may detract a little from the beauty of the writing, overall the book is outstanding.

    I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

    I received this complimentary book from Thomas Nelson for review purposes.

     
    Leave a comment

    Posted by on February 11, 2010 in Book Reviews

     

    Tags:

    Leave a Reply

         
