Review: The World’s Most Haunted House

The World’s Most Haunted House

by William J. Hall
Paperback: 224 pages
Publisher: New Page Books; 1 edition August 25, 2014
ISBN-10: 1601633378
ISBN-13: 978-1601633378

Barry’s score 4 stars out of 5
Available August 25th @ Amazon The World’s Most Haunted House: The True Story of The Bridgeport Poltergeist on Lindley Street

My thoughts:

Let me first start out by saying that I expected to totally hate this book. The title of “The World’s Most Haunted House” almost turned me away. I had just finished reading “Demon Street, USA”,  and while I didn’t hate that book, I didn’t for one minute believe the story. You might imagine my reluctance in reading another ghost research tale. In addition to that reluctance there was also the Warrens — Oh my god, the Warrens. There is even a brief mention of a young John Zaffis (the Author doesn’t mention if  Zaffis took anything from the haunted house *evil grin*).

Despite my misgivings, I decided to throw away my preconceived opinions and give the book a fair and unbiased read. As it turned out, I enjoyed it. The events, unlike some books of this type, were well documented and researched. The World’s Most Haunted House has 5 Appendices and a nice Notes section. The book is packed with pictures of people and documents that gives a feeling of the era and authenticity.

I guess more than anything else, I found a sort of kindred spirit in the Author William J. Hall. I trust his thoughts, research, and opinions of the strange events at the house on Lindley Street. I think that I would have approached the investigation in much the same way.

All in all, it is an excellent book and I highly recommend it. I give “The World’s Most Haunted House” 4 stars out of five.

Product description:

In this unprecedented work, the story of the 1974 Bridgeport, Connecticut poltergeist is at last revealed. A crowd of more than 2,000 onlookers gathered. National media reported jumping furniture, floating refrigerators, and attacking entities.

Decades after the publicity quieted, more than 40 hours of never-before released interviews with police officers, firefighters, and others tell the story as it actually unfolded:

  • Relive the experience, the terror, the rampant emotions, and the unexplainable events that took place in that house as they happened.
  • Have access to revealing excerpts from actual interviews, police reports,and rare documents.
  • Access unreleased audio, poltergeist sounds, and an old radio broadcast.

Return to 1974 and feel the Lindley Street experience from the inside. Find out why it is deemed the haunting that should have brought the paranormal into mainstream science.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from New Page Books and Warwick Associates. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “Review: The World’s Most Haunted House”

  1. Hello, Barry and Derby! Mike Morrell asked me to contact you because he really appreciates your blog and thinks you’d be an excellent candidate for his Speakeasy Blogger Network. Do you like to review off-the-beaten path faith, spirituality, and culture books? Speakeasy puts interesting books in your hands at no charge to you. You only get books when you request them, and it’s free to join. Sign up here, if you’d like: http://thespeakeasy.info

Leave a Reply

