Review: William Shakespeare’s Star Wars

shakespearesstarwarsWilliam Shakespeare’s Star Wars
by Ian Doescher

Hardcover: 176 pages
Publisher: Quirk Books (July 2, 2013)
ISBN-10: 1594746370
ISBN-13: 978-1594746376

What can I say? I came, I saw, I laughed…

Doescher retells the story of Star Wars (Verily A New Hope) in the spirit of William Shakespeare. The cover art and interior art are brilliant. I was very impressed with the faux leather cover (complete with a scuffed back) under the dust jacket.

This was long thought to be the only portrait ...

I really loved the Afterword and Doescher’s hat-tip to Joseph Campbell’s The Hero With A Thousand Faces. I agree, Campbell’s book had a major impact on my life. As for William Shakespeare’s Star Wars, I have to give it four lightsabers out of five. I blew through it’s 170’ish pages in one afternoon and really enjoyed every Jedi moment of it.

It should be a perfect gift for the Star Wars fan or the English major. William Shakespeare’s Star Wars will be available July 2nd … may the Force be with thee.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Quirk Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

3 thoughts on “Review: William Shakespeare’s Star Wars”

    1. SCENE1.
      Aboardtherebelship.Enter
      C-3PO
      and
      R2-D2
      .
      C-3PO
      Now is the summer of our happiness
      Made winter by this sudden, fierce attack!
      Our ship is under siege, I know not how.
      O hast thou heard? The main reactor fails!
      We shall most surely be destroy’d by this.
      I’ll warrant madness lies herein!

      R2-D2

      —Beep beep,Beep, beep, meep, squeak, beep, beep, beep, whee!

      C-3PO
      —We’re doomed.
      The princess shall have no escape this time!
      I fear this battle doth portend the end
      Of the Rebellion. O! What misery!

Leave a Reply

