Review: Avalon Revisited

avalon-revisited-largeAvalon Revisited: A novel of Vampires, Murder, and Sex in Victorian England
by O. M. Grey

(Barry’s score 4 stars out of 5)
Buy the book @ Amazon
Avalon Revisited: A novel of Vampires, Murder, and Sex in Victorian England (Volume 1)

Product description:

Arthur Tudor has made his existence as a vampire bearable for over three hundred years by immersing himself in blood and debauchery. Aboard an airship gala, he meets Avalon, an aspiring vampire slayer who sparks fire into Arthur’s shriveled heart. Together they try to solve the mystery of several horrendous murders on the dark streets of London. Cultures clash and pressures rise in this very steamy tale.

My thoughts:

I have to admit that I was a bit dubious about a steampunk erotic/romance book when Riverdale Avenue Books offered me a review copy.  Having said that, I have seen the book cover bouncing around the internet and I was just a tad curious. I gave it an open-minded try and to my great surprise, I liked it.

Grey has created a vampire that would stomp a Twilight vampire into a puddle of sparkly goo and only regret that it soiled his shoes. In chapter one we meet Arthur Tudor who ” …was to be the King of England.”

I had lost control in my passion and killed her. I had only intended to feed and then wipe her memory of it. Oh well.

Some people may not like Arthur, but I found him to be a breath of fresh air among whiny vampires who need therapy. He is a vampire who knows who and what he is. Of course, un-life can be a little dull without some adventure so Arthur can’t pass up an airship trip that will change his life, or un-life, forever.

An airship hung in the sky, suspended over the trees. Its propellers moved far too slowly, one would think, to hold up such a massive balloon. I didn’t understand this modern technology, and I didn’t care to. Dirigibles were the latest fascination in London. On pleasant Saturday afternoons such as today, a well-known airship captain would give commoners rides for a crown. Saturday evenings were reserved for London’s crème de la crème. Tonight, that would include me. I have never been on an airship before, but I’m certain it will be quite the experience.

The steampunk element worked nicely and it didn’t seem as if the author simply pasted gears on her story.  The atmosphere felt right and the book had a nice pace. The major characters were fleshed out well, although some secondary characters were very two-dimensional.  As you might expect, the story has plenty of adult content.

With Avalon in his life, Arthur grows throughout story. I enjoyed Avalon Revisited far more than I thought that I would and give it 4 stars out of 5. By the way, zombies — enough said.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this ebook free from Riverdale Avenue Books. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

