A steampunk’s Guide to tea

https://www.facebook.com/graftonpotteryAlways happy to promote local artists!
https://www.facebook.com/graftonpottery
Always happy to promote local artists!

Recently, I was a little under the weather and a friend, knowing that I enjoyed tea, suggested several teas to improve my health.  Not being my spirited (argumentative) self and realizing that she meant the best, I decided not to correct her on what is actually correctly called tea.  Tea comes from the camellia sinensis plant. Chamomile, rooibos, mint, etc. are not of the camellia sinensis plant and are not teas. It’s a minor point, but something to remind the herbal enthusiasts.

A late Christmas present arrived, and to my surprise it was something I’ve wanted a tea infuser. The beauty of a tea infuser is that the loose tea leaves are allowed to move around during the steeping process. Small tea infusers are little more than reusable teabags and can’t give you the taste of a larger infuser.

Tea

A general rule of thumb is that the darker the tea the hotter the water and the less you steep. Usually, you will find suggestion for steeping time with the tea.  Of course, tea is always a matter of taste and you should experiment frequently. I might add that loose tea can be re-steeped and that you should, of course, add more steeping time to the tea. If the tea is bitter reduce the steeping time.

I’m planing to shoot some video of my tea infuser and push the taste of loose leaf tea. Basically,tea is the perfect opportunity to play mad steampunk scientist and experiment with teas, steeping times, and heat. How can any steampunk resist the opportunity to experiment and play mad hatter at the same time?

3 thoughts on “A steampunk’s Guide to tea”

  1. I never knew about steeping the tea for less long when it’s darker, but it’s something I do. I always steep peppermint tea for longer than black tea, which I find quite bitter. I also did not think about the fact that most ‘tea’ is not tea! Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

