Review: Be My Enemy

Be My EnemyBe My Enemy
Ian McDonald
Hardcover: 280 pages
Publisher: Pyr
ISBN-10: 1616146788
ISBN-13: 978-1616146788

(Barry’s score 3 out of 5 stars)

Product description:

Everett Singh has escaped with the Infundibulum from the clutches of Charlotte Villiers and the Order, but at a terrible price. His father is missing, banished to one of the billions of parallel universes of the Panoply of All Worlds, and Everett and the crew of the airship Everness have taken a wild Heisenberg jump to a random parallel plane. Everett is smart and resourceful, and from the refuge of a desolate frozen Earth far beyond the Plenitude, where he and his friends have gone into hiding, he makes plans to rescue his family. But the villainous Charlotte Villiers is one step ahead of him. The action traverses three different parallel Earths: one is a frozen wasteland; one is just like ours, except that the alien Thryn Sentiency has occupied the Moon since 1964, sharing its technology with humankind; and one is the embargoed home of dead London, where the remnants of humanity battle a terrifying nanotechnology run wild. Across these parallel planes of existence, Everett faces terrible choices of morality and power. But he has the love and support of Sen, Captain Anastasia Sixsmyth, and the rest of the crew of Everness as he learns that the deadliest enemy isn’t the Order or the world-devouring nanotech Nahn—it’s himself.

My thoughts:

“Be My Enemy” is the sequel to Planesrunner. I strongly suggest that you read the first book in the series. I did not read Planesrunner and I struggled with the story.

At this point in the trilogy or series, our heroes are jumping through different alternate universes. Of course, there is a doppelganger angle that was predictable. The author worked in a lot of fictional slang and I didn’t find the glossary until I reached the end of the book.  I might suggest moving the glossary to the front of the book in the next installment.

“Be My Enemy” is a well-written story but I just couldn’t get into it. I suppose in large part to the fact that I had missed book one.  It really seemed to have a lot of elements that I have read (and watched)  in other scifi books and TV. While book one may have been more steampunky, book two didn’t have a lot of steampunk other than the cool looking book cover.

Sadly, I caught myself daydreaming while reading this book and that’s always a bad sign for a book. To be fair, I should re-read it after reading Planesrunner. I give the book 3 stars out of 5 and I recommend it for those who have read the first book in the series.


Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from PYR. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

