Confessions of the Barry-kind

Not long ago, I was asked by some friends to lunch. My female acquaintance demanded that we turn off our cellphones and place them on the table. I was the only one without a cellphone.

Knowing my love for fiddling with operating systems and computer parts, my friends could not believe that I did not own a cellphone.  The hostess went so far as to suggest that I be searched.

I stood up a emptied my pockets. I had a notepad, pen, billfold, handkerchief, assorted coins, lucky charm (currently a St. Patrick medal), keys, pocket watch (containing a lock of hair that the ladies wanted to see), and an embarrassing amount of pocket lint.

They could not seem to fathom why I would travel without a cellphone. I don’t own a cellphone or surprisingly an ebook reader. I guess the idea that a book lover would choose to go without an ebook reader would blow some people’s minds.

I’m sure that one day I will get a cellphone and join the 21st century. Having said that, I really don’t want to be contacted 24 hours a day. I like having the excuse that I was away from home (whether I was or not) and missed a call. As for ebook readers, I’d like to get one some day.

I suppose with a book I know what I have, but do I really own a digital ebook? Could some anonymous minion at Amazon remove my ebook with a keystroke? Will the day come when Amazon or the Government decides what I should read? Maybe I’ll get an ebook reader when I can remove the DRM from the ebook. As for now, a regular book works just fine.

Don’t get me wrong, I love technology. I just don’t love it all the time.

8 thoughts on “Confessions of the Barry-kind”

  1. I hear you. I have a prepaid cell phone that is hardly ever turned on, unless I’m traveling somewhere. I’m quite content with my landline and really do prefer to have time when I’m not accessible to the world. It can do text messaging. I can’t do text messaging. I have no intense desire for the next upgrade. Hell’s bells, I only upgraded to digital because my service discontinued analog.

    When my father died, I had to teach my mother how to use the microwave. She’d always conned him into using it for her. She can’t work the DVD player. She’s 84. I’m 58 and coming to understand why she feels that way. I could live a long and happy life and never learn another new version of Windows or Microsoft Word. It just gets to be a nuisance.

  2. Hey, Barry – Get a Kobo ereader; they don’t use DRM books (or at least, they’ll accept non-DRM ones). That way you’re safer when it comes to “keeping” your books. Any books that you’re REALLY concerned with you can copy to a flash memory or a disk and save it outside a computer “just in case”!

  3. Barry, if the world keeps going the way it is now, politically and war-wise, not to mention the major increase in solar flares, we may all be living “off the grid” in the not-to-distant future.
    All of us with cell phones and ebooks will be in alot worse hurt than you (and folks like you) will be. I am just glad I have not thrown out all of my physical books, of which I have quite a few,
    and that I have a butt-load of candles! ;)

  4. I don’t do cells. I’m not on call 24/7 for everyone. They can leave a message. I have a Kindle Reader uploaded from Amazon onto my laptop. It works wonderfully. Don’t need the reader. I’m always on my blessed computer anyways.

Leave a Reply

