Review: Sherlock Holmes: The Rediscovered Railway Mysteries and Other Stories

Sherlock Holmes: The Rediscovered Railway Mysteries and Other Stories
by John Taylor
Read by Benedict Cumberbatch
Audio CD,
Publisher AudioGO (January 11, 2011)
ISBN 1408426250
ISBN13: 9781408426258

Sherlock Holmes: The Rediscovered Railway Mysteries and Other Stories is 4 stories of our favorite detective Sherlock Holmes told from the perspective of Dr. John Watson.The stories are written by John Taylor in the style of Arthur Conan Doyle. Each story is about 30 minutes in length and very enjoyable. Taylor is no Doyle, but the reading by Benedict Cumberbatch is excellent.

While Cumberbatch plays a modern Sherlock Holmes in Sherlock, the audio book is of the vintage Holmes. I was really impressed with the wide range of Cumberbatch’s vocal characters. If you are a fan of the show Sherlock or a fan of Cumberbatch, you will really enjoy the audio book.

Watson opens an old cedar box with notes from 4 untold stories, and decides that it is time to share these tales. “An Inscrutable Masquerade,” “The Trinity Vicarage Larceny,” “The Conundrum of Coach 13,” and “The 10:59 Assassin” move along at a quick pace.

As for the stories, I enjoyed them. I turned down the lights and listened to the stories in one evening. I have to admit that I figured out the mysteries early. Having said that, I enjoyed hearing them play out as I thought that they would. I wouldn’t mind listening to them again, if for no other reason than to listen to Cumberbatch’s vocal acting.

All in all, I think that you get a good bang for your buck. I feel like I got my money’s worth.I give the audio book 4 stars out of 5.

2 thoughts on “Review: Sherlock Holmes: The Rediscovered Railway Mysteries and Other Stories”

Leave a Reply

