A second look at “The Art of Steampunk”

The Art of Steampunk Extraordinary Device and Ingenious Contraptions from the Leading Artists of the Steampunk Movement
by Art Donovan

( 4 1/2 stars out of 5 )

I guess that it will come as no surprise to anyone that has followed this blog for any length of time that I love steampunk. When Netgalley offered me a chance to review this title, I jumped at it. Unfortunately, most of the pictures were missing and some of the text was “greeked out.” I wasn’t just disappointed, I was angry.

That anger led me to suggest that Fox Chapel has no pride in its products and for that I do apologize. Art Donovan was kind enough to comment on the blog that the galleys were still in the editing phase and a Fox Chapel Publicist emailed me.

I have since had a chance to download a new copy of “The Art of Steampunk” and it looks awesome. The eye-popping artwork of the 17 international artists is beautiful. We are introduced to each artist with a brief biography and quickly move to their great steampunk art.

While there is a little something for everyone, I got a pretty good chuckle out of the toy-like artwork of Stephane Halleux. Although, without a doubt, the art of Richard “Datamancer” Nagy is my all-time favorite.

Expect this book to be out in August. It will make an excellent coffee table book and should generate some interesting discussions.

I really enjoyed it and I give it 4 1/2 top hats and goggles out of 5.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Netgalley. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

One thought on “A second look at “The Art of Steampunk””

Leave a Reply

